krissbooks Thousands of Previously Loved and New Books.

Chronicles of Amber 1 & II by Roger Zelazny

There is only 1 item left in stock.

Hard cover with dust jacket Book Club Edition

The Chronicles of Amber
Nine princes in amber.jpg
Nine Princes in Amber (1970), book 1 of the series

AuthorRoger Zelazny
CountryUnited States
Media typePrint (hardcover and paperback), audiobooke-book
No. of books10
Followed byThe Dawn of Amber

The Chronicles of Amber is a series of fantasy novels by American writer Roger Zelazny. The main series consists of two story arcs, each five novels in length. Additionally, there are a number of Amber short stories and other works.

The Amber stories take place in two contrasting "true" worlds, Amber and Chaos, and in shadow worlds (Shadows) that lie between the two. These shadows, including our Earth, are parallel worlds that exist in, and were created from, the tension between opposing magical forces of Amber and Chaos. The Courts of Chaos are situated at the very edge of an Abyss. Members of the royal family of Amber, after walking a Pattern that is central to Amber, can travel freely through the Shadows. While traveling (shifting) between Shadows, one can alter reality or create a new reality by choosing which elements of which Shadows to keep or add, and which to subtract. Nobles of the Courts of Chaos who have traversed the Logrusare similarly able to travel through Shadow.